About us

The Noosa District Rugby League Football Club was founded in 1975 making it one of the oldest community rugby league clubs on the Sunshine Coast.  With grounds in Cooroy and its headquarters in Tewantin in the heart of the Noosa Shire. 

The Noosa Pirates share a rich history in Rugby League and boast several players now playing in the NRL including local legend Moses Mbye.  The Pirates have won a total six A Grade/Division 1 Premierships in '77, '97, '06, '07, '08 and '17, plus many lower grade & junior titles.

With a great calibre of players onboard our pirate ship, 2022 is set to be another brilliant year of footy.


A proud heritage - Celebrating 47 years.

In the early 1980's the Pirates continued their expansion in the region and in a major move toward its future, relocated their Senior teams to Pirate Park at Tewantin, giving the club a home base location in the heart of the Noosa Shire. 

Founders of The Noosa Pirates, the Christensen family are still involved with the club.  Col Christensen pictured centre with grandson Ryan are in their original kit.  In 2019 Australia celebrated 100 Years of Rugby League, the club celebrated the Centenary Year by wearing their iconic kit.